Uncategorized

Finding the Perfect Study Spot

I don’t care what anyone tells you, finding the perfect “spot” to study is absolutely essential to your success as a student. It is magic when you find that place you look forward to go study, and it is my firm belief that it should feel like home. This process is very individualized, and it’s all about figuring out what works best for you. For me, this study spot usually takes the form of a coffee shop. After a year of exploring, I have compiled all of the elements that make up my perfect working environment.

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

 

 

  1. Coffee Coffee Coffee: As previously noted, I like to go to coffee shops to study. First and foremost, because I like coffee, but also out of necessity; caffeine keeps me awake and moving. That is why my #1 requirement for a study spot is good coffee.
  2. Small Space: I don’t like to go anywhere that’s too crowded. Too many people means too many distractions. It is also very difficult to go somewhere that you will run in to a lot of people you know. Less people also means more seating options (and not having to fight over outlets.)
  3. Good Lighting: It may sound crazy, but good lighting is essential to productivity. Too bright, I get headaches, too dim, I fall asleep.
  4. Outdoor Space: Weather permitting, I like to go somewhere that offers outdoor seating. If I have been working for a long period of time, sometimes it can be nice to have a change of scenery without having to go very far. A little sun can go a long way.
  5. Wifi: Free, reliable Wifi in a public space can be difficult to find. Unless you have your own hotspot, if you are doing work on the computer, good Wifi is non-negotiable.
  6. Comfortable Seating: It may seem obvious, but there needs to be comfortable seating… But not too comfortable, or you will fall asleep. It may sound nice to curl up on that couch by the fireplace, but sometimes it can be easy to drift off. I like to find a nice table next to an outlet.
  7. Friendly Staff: Last but not least, I always value friendly staff. Baristas that remember your name or favorite drink are to be cherished.

 

 

untitled-63

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

