Lifestyle

Pure Gold

“Pure gold put in the fire comes out of it proved pure; genuine faith put through this suffering comes out proved genuine.” 1 Peter 1:7 (Message)

1 Peter

I find that in times of unknowing, it is the hardest for me to be faithful. Times of suffering, although terrible, force me to lean on God. But in times of uncertainty, I try to take control and find my own way; I always feel so isolated and far away from Him. I am currently trying to find my way through a season of unknowing. I think everyone goes through something similar when trying to decide on a career path. There are endless decisions to make and an insurmountable amount of pressure. I have been feeling so overwhelmed lately by the burdens that come with responsibility. The devil has been putting thoughts of hopelessness into my mind and weighing me down with ideas of impossibility. There seemed to be no good options for me.

While trying to study Sociology at my local coffee shop, I could feel God pushing me to open my Bible. Although I am behind in school, I was having a hard time focusing (which is unusual for me,) however I was very willing to find any excuse to put down the text book. I gladly grabbed my Bible and journal. I have been going through what one might call a scripture rut; I haven’t been able to find a chapter that I could really connect with in a long time. Nonetheless, I started flipping through the pages, and once again felt God talking to me, telling me to read 1 Peter.

All I needed to understand was that God is living hope. I was brought to tears, right there in the middle of the coffee shop. It was like the floodgates were opened; I was immediately filled with joy and hope. Even in seasons of confusion and unknowing, He is faithful. He gives me hope. No matter the trials of this world, we can still be filled with inexpressible joy and glory. He gives us a future, He gives us salvation. “So that the tested genuineness of you faith-more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire-may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 1:7 (ESV). We were given brand new life, we have everything to live for. He is living hope.

Although my circumstances haven’t changed and I am still in a season of uncertainty, I am filled with joy. God is in control, and he gives me a future. My prayer is that God would help me remain faithful and to trust in Him; that He would give me comfort and contentment where I am. Thank you, Jesus, for giving me a new life.

Standard

Leave a Reply

